Batchworth Parish Council to be set up - after review was held

22nd September 2016

In October 2015, Three Rivers District Council received a petition requesting the council conduct a review of the unparished area of the district, with the view to establishing a new parish council. 

The council established a Working Party to look into the proposal and to undertake a ballot of the local electorate to gauge their view, either for or against a new parish council. The results of the ballot varied across the four wards involved.

At the Council meeting on the 12 September 2016, the Members of the Council decided:

  • To establish a new Parish and create one new Parish Council for the 2 wards of Moor Park & Eastbury, and Rickmansworth Town, as shown edged in red on the attached map.
  • That the new Parish be called ‘Batchworth Parish’ and that the Parish Council be called ‘Batchworth Parish Council.’
  • That the new Parish Council be divided into two wards, based on existing ward boundaries of: Rickmansworth Town; Moor Park & Eastbury.
  • That there are eight Councillors in the new Parish Council, four councillors in each ward.
  • That no property or functions be handed over from Three Rivers District Council to the Parish Council at this time.
  • To have first elections in May 2017 elected for 2 years with ordinary elections taking place in May 2019, and every four years thereafter, to synchronise these with the majority of other Parish Councils.