Three Rivers District Council welcomes new Chairman and Vice-Chairman

30th May 2019

Three Rivers District Council has a new Chairman with the appointment of Cllr Paula Hiscocks into the role at the Annual Council meeting held on Tuesday 21 May 2019. 

Cllr Hiscocks was first elected to the Council in 2008. She has lived in Three Rivers for over 30 years. Her two children went to St Marys School, where she has been the Local Education Authority Governor for 11 years. 

Cllr Hiscocks was instrumental in saving Watersmeet and ran the venue as a private trust for a year. She formed the Friends of Watersmeet (FOW) committee which started the very successful FOW Film society bringing films back to Watersmeet. 

Each year the council chairman supports local charities. Cllr Hiscocks will raise funds for CVSS, a Sailing charity for people with disabilities based in The Aquadrome and DEMAND, based in Abbotts Langley, which helps people with disabilities by adapting and making equipment.

The role of Council chairman is mostly ceremonial, with the post-holder stepping back from day-to-day political work. Cllr Hiscocks will represent the Council at a range of events and activities, as well as presiding over Full Council meetings. Her Consort for the year will be her husband, Graham Hiscocks. 

On being elected, Paula said: “It is a privilege to have been elected as Chairman of Three Rivers District Council. I am delighted to wear the chains knowing my fellow Councillors put their trust in me. I am proud to represent the community of Three Rivers and will use every opportunity I can to continue raising its profile.” 

On the same evening, Councillor Keith Martin was elected as Vice-Chairman of the Council for the 2019/2020 Civic Year. He joined the Council in October 2017 and has lived in the area for 57 years. He married Liz Martin in 2015, who will be his Consort.

Keith said: “It is a great honour to take on the role of Vice-Chair. I am looking forward to supporting and working with the Chairman representing Three Rivers District Council.”